The Morning Routine Project: a new habit

Image

I want to start a morning routine for myself.

It’s actually part of a larger scheme: consolidation of nice habits. Some people say they hate routine. “Routine is boring”. “Routine is intimidating” “It kills our creativity”.

I believe that when our routines are not well balanced, then they might become a burden in our lives.

Routines don’t have to be all about boring work. We can have a routine for fun too, right? There’s something very wrong with the word “routine”. We automatically relate it to (boring) obligations. I prefer to think like Joshua Millburn of The Minimalists: “I do not have a daily routine. I no longer need one. I do, however, have habits on which I focus every day.”

So, I’ve been trying to start my day differently. As you know, I love to read. And it would be a joy to start my day reading!! Also, I would like to start meditating. Problem is: I’ve never meditated in my life, so it’s a bit challenging for me. And my morning routine doesn’t include exercises because I do them in the evening.

Anyway, last month I set up a morning “task list”, starting at 6:00 am. It was very simple (I didn’t include meditation at first):

  • Wake up at 6: get out of bed (no snoozing!)
  • Take a bath and put clothes on (6-6:30)
  • Drink a glass of water and Read (6:30 – 7:00)
  • Make coffee and eat breakfast (7:00 – 7:30)
  • Hair and teeth (7:30 – 8)
  • Leave (8:00)

I could complete the routine for about 3 days, starting on a Monday. By Thursday I was dead tired, and I snoozed… The problem was that I wasn’t getting enough sleep!!

By the way, I was also trying to get into the habit of 7 hours/night of sleep. Well, I’m used to 8 hours of sleep per night, so reducing 1 hour of sleep and starting the morning routine wasn’t a good plan. Result: I’ve been snoozing my alarm clock everyday since… a complete disaster!

So, I’ll try again. Baby steps this time. I’ll reduce only 15 minutes of my “8-hours-sleep”.

  • Wake-up time (6:50 am)
  • Take a bath and put clothes on (6:50 – 7:15 am)
  • Drink a glass of water and Read  (7:15 – 7:40 am) => including 5 minutes of meditation, just to get started
  • Make coffee and eat breakfast (7:40 – 8:00)
  • Hair and teeth (8:00 – 8:30)
  • Leave (8:30)

I’ll try this for one week, and see how it goes!!

2 thoughts on “The Morning Routine Project: a new habit

  1. Pingback: The morning routine challenge: part 2 | Noisy Deadlines

Leave a Reply

