Reading matter(s) of the month: February, 2016

book list february 2016

There goes the second month of 2016, 09 weeks have passed, and I am happy with my reading habits. I did finish some unfinished books from last year, so that resulted in a high number of books read. But, I also added new books to my never ending “to-read” pile…

The “To-Read” pile of February, 2016:

In February I added a total of 09 books to my “to-read” pile. They are:

  1. The Productivity Project: Accomplishing More by Managing Your Time, Attention, and Energy  by Chris Bailey => I’ve been wanting to improve my focus because I still get distracted by little things, specially social media
  2. Yoga Anatomy, Second Edition  by Leslie Kaminoff, Amy Matthews => This book is an illustrated guide to Yoga and it seems there’s no digital edition available. It’s more like a “someday/maybe” book for me right now.
  3. The More of Less: Find the Life You Want Under Everything You Own by Joshua Becker => that’s a new book from Joshua that will come out this month. I hope it will inspire my minimalism project.
  4. What To Say When You Talk To Your Self  by Shad Helmstetter => this seems an interesting read to address the voices in my head.
  5. Cure: A Journey into the Science of Mind Over Body  by Jo Marchant =>I read an article about this book this month and her research investigates the influence of our minds over our bodies: a topic I want to explore.
  6. Everything That Remains: A Memoir by The Minimalists  by Joshua Fields Millburn, Ryan Nicodemus =>a book from The Minimalists on why to become a minimalist. Their podcast is awesome!
  7. enough  by Patrick Rhone =>another book into the “minimalist” theme: I think it was a recommendation I heard on The Minimalists podcast.
  8. How to Be Alive: No Impact Man’s Guide to a High Impact Life by Colin Beavan => a book on the theme of zero waste living: another topic I want to explore more.
  9. Zero World by Jason M. Hough => the only fiction book on this list, it’s a sci-fi thriller recommended by Felicia Day that I saw on Goodreads. I think it’s worth a try!

The “Read” list of February, 2016:

This month I wanted to read and/or finish some books that have been on my pile for way too long. I think I did a great job, I am happy with this list!

read books of february 2016

  1. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury => a classic that was on my Kindle waiting to be read. Enjoyable.
  2. The Freedom Handbook: An Incomplete Guide to a More Complete Life  by Jeff Hirz =>a very short book that was also forgotten on my Kindle.
  3. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change (25th Anniversary Edition) by Stephen R. Covey =>I started reading this book last year and put it down many, many times… I wanted to read it because almost everybody that is into productivity cites this book. I wasn’t impressed, really.
  4. Clear the Clutter, Find Happiness: One-Minute Tips for Decluttering and Refreshing Your Home and Your Life by Donna Smallin =>I love reading about organization and decluttering tips and this was a fast read on the subject.
  5. Delicacy: A Novel by David Foenkinos =>I finished a French book! Yay! I read this in its original version: achievement unlocked 🙂

The “I started reading but haven’t finished yet” pile of February, 2016:

  1. The Pillars of the World (Tir Alainn, #1)  by Anne Bishop => This book in the pick of the month of the Vaginal Fantasy book club, on Goodreads (it’s a book club for romance genre books with strong female lead characters). It sounds interesting!
  2. L’île mystérieuse by Jules Verne => I chose this book as my French reading practice this month, but I am already regretting it. It’s a very long book, and the pace is too slow for my taste, although I love Julio Verne. Maybe I’ll leave it and change to another one…just saying…

And, since March has already started, a quick update: I started reading “An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth” by canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield. I’m just loving it!

 

Leave a Reply

