Reading matter(s) of the month: March, 2016

to read books march 2016-04-03

Okay, third month of 2016, 13 weeks have past us by! March wasn’t a month full of reading for me. I finished reading 2 books, while trying to continue reading “L’île mystérieuseby Jules Verne but without much success. I kinda gave up this book and chose another French book to read instead (lighter and easier).

The “To-Read” pile of March, 2016:

In March I added a total of 06 books to my “to-read” pile. I know, it is still more than I can handle, but I can’t help it! There are way too good books out there to be read in this world! They were:

  1. Mind Over Medicine: Scientific Proof That You Can Heal Yourself by Lissa Rankin: another book about the influence of our minds over our bodies. I am curious!
  2. Space Chronicles: Facing the Ultimate Frontier by Neil deGrasse Tyson, Avis Lang: I started listening Neil deGrasse Tyson’s podcast (Star Talk Radio) and I found out that he has some great books published (and I had no idea!).
  3. Packing Light: Thoughts on Living Life with Less Baggage by Allison Vesterfelt: I have a kind of a life goal of travelling anywhere with only a carry-on, so this book might help me.
  4. How to Travel the World on $50 a Day: Revised: Travel Cheaper, Longer, Smarter by Matt Kepnes: another one about travelling light.
  5. Shards of Honour (Vorkosigan Saga, #1) by Lois McMaster Bujold: a science-fiction I’ve been wanting to read for years that was not included in my “to-read” pile. So, here it is.
  6. How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran: this book is this month’s pick for the feminist Bookclub “Our Shared Shelf” and since it is a fun read I’ll definitely enjoy it this month.

The “Read” list of March, 2016:

So, I finished one fiction and one non-fiction this month.

read books march 2016-04-04

  1. The Pillars of the World (Tir Alainn, #1) by Anne Bishop: it is a long book, in the fantasy genre, but I didn’t enjoy so much.
  2. The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right by Atul Gawande: great book! It gave me a perspective on how checklists are ingrained in our activities and how we can use them better.

 

The “I started reading but haven’t finished yet” pile of March, 2016:

  1. American Gods by Neil Gaiman: now, this is a long book! I bought the e-book some months ago and only now I had the courage to face it. Looking good so far!
  2. Les Catilinaires by Amélie Nothomb: my second attempt at reading French literature this month. I am enjoying it.

So, that’s what happened in March! This month (April) I would like to read at least 3 books to keep up the pace. Let’s see how it goes! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

